Ready, Set..

P is For Poetry.
IMG_0568[1]
Above is the set of poetry workbooks I prepared for the NUS students. Any excuse for some paint, basically.

This week marks the beginning of several workshop groups I am facilitating in Singapore. For the sake of accessibility, I am running two poetry groups of 12 NUS students, who I will see weekly to write, talk, do exercises, and share words and thoughts. The first Thursday evening class was last week, and it was fun and great to meet one of the groups. I took in anonymous wishes from the group about what they wanted from the series, and will do my best to accommodate their needs. The first Wednesday evening class is today. I’m always somewhere between nervous and excited before the beginning of a course, but the students seem hungry to develop their work and are a pleasure to work with.

In addition, I am also running the first of ten poetry sessions for Little Arts Academy, a hub in town that offers creative/expressive arts classes to children in Singapore. These will culminate in a show at the end of the year, so I hope they feel inspired to make some poems and practice speaking up through the workshops.

September is sprinkled with different poetry gigs: further details to come :-).

About Jasmine Ann Cooray

I am a poet. I am also a training psychotherapist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

